THE FROG PRINCE

The frog said to Nadia, “I must sit next to you. Put me on this chair.” Nadia did so. Then the frog said, “Now put a golden plate near me. I must eat out of it.” The frog ate the food and said again, “Now I am tired. Take me to your room. I want to sleep.” Nadia shivered when she touched the frog, but she took the frog to her room and put it on
her snow-white pillow. Soon the frog fell asleep. It woke up early in the morning, hopped off pillow and went out of the palace. Nadia didn’t sleep all night. Now she was happy. “I shall not be troubled by it again,” she thought. But when the night came the princess heard the same noise on the stairs and the same tap at the door. The same voice said, “Open the door, you must keep your promise!”
When Nadia opened the door the frog hopped into the room.
Again it sat next to Nadia, again it ate out of a golden plate and again it slept
on her snow-white pillow. Early in the morning the frog hopped out of the palace.
On the third night the frog came once more. The next morning when Nadia looked at her pillow she didn’t see the ugly cold frog. There was a most handsome prince there! The prince said “A cruel fairy changed me into a frog and I could only become a prince again when a princess let me eat from a golden plate and sleep on her pillow for three days. Dear princess, you were so kind to me. You let me eat with you and sleep on your pillow, and I want to marry you and to take you to my father’s palace.” And he did so and they were happy all their life.

Answer the questions.

What was the fi rst thing the frog asked for? ”put me on this chair”

What was the second thing it asked for? ”put a golden plate near me”

What was the third thing the frog asked the princess to do? ”take me to your room”

Where did the frog sleep? on a snow-white pillow

What happened early in the morning? the frog turned into a prince (and which early morning are you talking about miss?)

How many times did the frog come to the palace? 3 I think

What did Nadia fi nd after the third visit? a prince

Complete the sentences.

The frog said to Nadia, “I must sit next to you.”

Nadia shivered when she touched the frog.

The frog slept on Nadia’s pillow.

Nadia didn’t sleep all night. She thought “I shall not be troubled by it again.”

Early in the morning, the frog hopped out of the palace.

The prince told Nadia, “a cruel fairy changed me into a frog.”

Choose the correct word.

The frog said “I must sit next to you.” (in front of, next to)

Nadia shivered when she touched the frog. (touched, looked at)

In the morning the frog hopped off the pillow and went out of the palace. (the
table, the pillow)

Nadia thought “I shall not be troubled by it again. (shall be, shall not be)

On the third morning Nadia saw a
handsome prince on her pillow. (an ugly frog, a
handsome prince)

A cruel fairy changed the prince into a frog. (kind, cruel)

Write sentences using the words below.
(Don’t forget to begin your sentences with capital letters.)

I must sit next to you

Nadia shivered when she touched the frog

The frog slept on Nadia’s pillow

A cruel fairy changed him into a frog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *